Tour de Tainan

I reside in a little apartment on the outskirts of Tainan making it difficult to explore the city, especially as I have no idea how to get anywhere or where to even begin. However, through choir I met a girl close to my age who kindly invited me to stay the night with her in downtown Tainan and show me the sights.

One of the frequent and more exciting ways to travel in Taiwan is by motorcycle and this is how we set about exploring the city. First, Kimberly took me to Anping, the only beach in Tainan, where we watched the sunset.

I then got a taste of local Tainan cuisine. Lots of seafood. We had fried rice, a shrimp omelet, clams, and crab. All this delicious food was very cheap too: costing less than 10 US dollars. Tianan is known for its sweet food and the seafood was prepared with sweet sauces. For desert, we had a type of shaved ice mixed with tea and sugar molasses.

We then set about exploring the night markets. You can buy all types of food here: from fried squid to pig’s blood. There were also many stands dedicated to clothes, purses, shoes, helmets, etc.

IMG_4185
Fried squid! (I think)

In the morning, Kimberly and her mother took me on a bike ride through the University stopping to show me famous buildings and features. I had a delicious breakfast of danbing, a local dish that is like an egg pancake wrapped around your choice of meats and veggies.

The old West gate. Constructed while Taiwan was a Japanese colony.
The old West gate. Constructed while Taiwan was a Japanese colony.

 

Leave a comment